A nationally important historic mausoleum in North East Scotland will be open to the public at the weekend.
Now more than 200 years old the Elyza Fraser Mausoleum in Cluny Kirkyard is a category A listed building designed by an internationally noted Scottish architect of the 18th Century.
North East Scotland Preservation Trust (NESPT) own the Mausoleum and is planning a restoration project in partnership with the Friends of the Elyza Fraser Mausoleum.
The Mausoleum was built in 1808 for Miss Elyza Fraser the owner of Castle Fraser (now a National Trust for Scotland property). It was designed by her friend the architect James Byers of Tonley, a founder member of the Royal Society of Edinburgh and a prominent Jacobite.
Elyza died in 1814 and is buried in her Mausoleum along with several generations of her family, the last interment being in 1946.
John Fraser, Chairman of the Friends Group, said: “We are delighted to open the Mausoleum this weekend. It is both an architecturally important building and a valuable link to Elyza’s fascinating life story”.
The opening is part of Aberdeenshire Doors Open Days. Members of the Friends Group will be on hand to tell visitors about the building and let them see inside from 2.00pm to 4.00pm on Saturday 16 September and Sunday 17 September.
The NESPT is a Registered Scottish Charity and Company Limited by Guarantee. It works across the north-east to restore historic buildings and to bring derelict properties back into productive use. Recent examples include the Sail Loft Bunkhouse, Portsoy, the Silversmith’s Quarters, Banff, and the Stag & Thistle Hotel & Restaurant in Fraserburgh.
For further information contact Paul Higson, NESPT Project Director.
07831 580165; email@example.com